User:Shash42/GSoC 2020:Bilingual Dictionary Discovery

From Apertium
Jump to navigation Jump to search

About Me[edit]

I am an undergraduate research student pursuing Computer Science at the International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad. I have been involved in CS and Linguistics through olympiads for the past 4 years.


I am interested in Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, and Applied Math. I am fascinated by computational solutions where they're least expected. My hobbies are competitive programming, math (problem-solving of any sort really), writing, playing chess and keeping in touch with developments in space exploration.


A general overview of my skills can be found in my CV.

I have been engaged in linguistics and programming since High School. In 2016, I became one of the youngest students to represent India at the International Olympiad of Linguistics (IOL). I subsequently won a silver medal at the national level and an Honorable Mention at IOL 2019 in Yongin, South Korea. During this journey, I have self-learned a lot about linguistics. My algorithm/data structures journey too revolved around an olympiad, i.e. the International Olympiad of Informatics. In 2019, I ranked 6th in India at the national team selections.

I have performed well at the ACM ICPC Regionals this year. I also enjoyed Google HashCode, an optimization challenge, much like the one I plan to take up in the summer. At some point, I decided to combine my background and explore NLP. I have done some projects, including a research project for which I was selected to represent India at ISEF 2019.