Difference between revisions of "User:Bandrandr/proposal"

From Apertium
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 51: Line 51:
==Personal information==
==Personal information==
===Skills and Qualifications===
===Skills and Qualifications===
4 years of Fundamental and applied linguistics<br />
4 years of Fundamental and applied linguistics, (almost completed Bachelor degree in linguistics)<br />
'''Programming skills''': Python, R, bash
'''Programming skills''': Python, R, bash

Revision as of 12:05, 24 March 2017

Chukchi morphological analyser using HFST


Vasilisa Andriyanets
bas_____ on irc
Moscow (GMT+3)


Chukchi is a language with rich and complicated morphology and incorporation.
By now morphological parsers using regular expressions were not able to handle it properly
HFST seems to be the solution


Anticipated result: morphological analyser for Chukchi that handles

  • nouns
  • verbs
  • incorporation (probably)


The result of this work, if it succeeds, would be of great use for linguists investigating Chukchi and an important brick for building a corpus of Chukchi.


Post-application period

Getting to know HFST better,
improve skills in building finite-state transducers

Community bonding period

Investigation time:

  • getting the whole picture of Chukchi morphology
  • planning the architecture

Work period

  • Week 1 nouns
  • Week 2
  • Week 3
  • Week 4

Milestone #1 HFST for nouns (and adjectives?)

  • Week 5 verbs
  • Week 6
  • Week 7
  • Week 8

Milestone #2 HFST for verbs?

  • Week 9
  • Week 10
  • Week 11
  • Week 12 final debugging, writing documentation

Personal information

Skills and Qualifications

4 years of Fundamental and applied linguistics, (almost completed Bachelor degree in linguistics)
Programming skills: Python, R, bash

Non-GSoC summer plans

I am going to write my bachelor thesis by middle June, so I will only be able to spend 10-15 hours per week.
I am also going for a conference on 9-15 July, so I will be able to spend 15-20 hours for the project that week.
Apart from that, I am going to work full-time up to 50 hours a week.